Author Topic: how much scope do I need  (Read 5103 times)

Offline hotro1988Topic starter

how much scope do I need
« on: October 25, 2016, 10:43:24 pm »
hello all, I am looking to get an oscilloscope and am hoping to get recommendations for automotive use. I've searched through the site, and many of the threads are a few years old and there have been a lot of advancements in oscilloscope technology. I am not an engineer and this is just a hobby, but I looking for something I can grow into. I would be using it for OBD 1 and early OBD2, eventually i would be working on more modern OBD 2 systems. Right now it would be easier systems like ignition control and communications with early OBD 2 control modules (body control module, PCM, ABS, etc..) I imagine eventually I will be looking at automotive can bus and the like. Would you recommend analog, digital, new or used. I am contemplating a Rigol DS1054Z but am not sure if 50Mhz will be enough for more modern systems such as can bus, or would I be better of with an older 2 channel analog scope in the 100-200 Mhz range. Thanks for any and all help.

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: how much scope do I need
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2016, 10:55:42 pm »
Don't know just where you are so I can't link the appropriate Siglent website.  :-//

A SDS1102X will do what you need for $ 424. The Decode package that includes CAN is included in a promotion ATM.
No need to hack it or anything like that, all you need is included in the price.
http://www.siglentamerica.com/pdxx.aspx?id=4688&T=2&tid=1
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline rob77

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2016, 11:04:49 pm »