Author Topic: How to begin? To Open Source? To Fund?  (Read 2287 times)

Offline TechnicalBenTopic starter

• Contributor
How to begin? To Open Source? To Fund?
« on: January 09, 2017, 10:07:26 pm »
First a massive thank you to everyone who contributes to this forum and for Dave's tutorials (and entertainment ;) ). The ones on soldering have been invaluable to a total novice like me.

Can I ask some important questions and see what your thoughts are or advice is? I want to start a simple project and see it through to a working device. Around 6 months ago, I had a try at building one of these: http://www.instructables.com/id/Haptic-Proximity-Module-HPM-for-Low-Vision-users/

It was obvious there were a couple of areas it needed improving in to actually be useful. For example, replacing the ultrasonic sensor with something much quicker and accurate. I am looking to do it in a different way to how current market haptic feedback proximity wands seem to approach the problem. Though some of the ideas are similar to this: https://www.maxiaids.com/ray-electronic-mobility-aid-for-the-blind

What is the best way to go about progressing with this project? As I doubt I've got the expertise to do it alone, and I also think it would be a useful idea to share with others, how would I Open Source the idea or concept? Are there websites that can help with making things available to others?

When it comes to covering the costs of buying the few sensors and a microcontroller, what is the best option? Self funded, Kickstarter, Patreon, Amazon "Wish List" or plain old "Donate Now" button?  (I've got what I need for a proof of concept already, the IR sensor arrived today. But want to test out multiple sensors, as they differ in range limit, and of cause types, eg: IR, TOF, Ultrasonic etc. This is the extra stuff that I am expecting to need in the short term.)