Author Topic: How to clean up lab after big capacitor blew?  (Read 10681 times)

Offline GeekGirl

Re: How to clean up lab after big capacitor blew?
« Reply #25 on: April 15, 2018, 05:07:21 am »
I used to connect 50V 1000uF electro's to mains cables, bury the electro ~ 200mm in the ground and then plug into the mains ;) They made great little land mines ;) Lovely loud bangs and dirt flung up to 4m in the air ;) I tried a really big one once (I can not remember the ratings but it was bigger than a can of coke), it sat for a bit humming then made a fair hole in the ground, a fair few neighbors came out to see what the bang was ;)
Regards,
Kat. :)
" I am an Engineer, Not an English teacher, God Damn it" Moi 1999

Offline Old Printer

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #26 on: April 15, 2018, 01:44:46 pm »
Had a 5000 watt metal halide uv exposure tube blow once. It took out the 3/8" thick tempered glass safety plate which took out the 4x4 foot glass faced exposure frame under full vaccume. No real injuries, but between the flying glass and the noise it was a real brown streak shorts changer. Hell of a mess to clean up.
Is that electrolyte sodium based? That's what the residue looks like.

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: April 15, 2018, 07:45:57 pm »
Electrolyte is probably borax based. Kind of popular base for electrolytics, though the actual blend is a real witches brew.

Offline jtuTopic starter

• Supporter
« Reply #28 on: April 15, 2018, 07:59:20 pm »
Is that electrolyte sodium based? That's what the residue looks like.

How to tell? Feels very much like paraffin wax.
Veiksmi,
Jānis

Offline jtuTopic starter

• Supporter
« Reply #29 on: May 11, 2018, 07:01:32 pm »
I think I know what caused the blow. I think it is "Boys and girls, don't use cheap caps from noname" story.

As I wrote above I use chap capacitors for experimenting, "breadboarding" so to speak. You can't forecast everything anyway during that, I am thinking.