Author Topic: How to control dc motor torque using H Bridge?  (Read 4011 times)

Offline lion032Topic starter

How to control dc motor torque using H Bridge?
« on: November 13, 2018, 09:20:42 am »
Hi all!

I am working on a force feedback yoke for my home cockpit and I am trying to understand how to control the motor torque using current sensing.
I found the following of the motor driver that was used in the Microsoft Force Feedback stick.
http://www.simprojects.nl/ms_siderwinder_ff2_hack.htm
Being a programmer I am struggling to figure out what is going on in the attached schematic.

Thanks in advance,
Leon.

Offline max_torque

• Super Contributor
    • bitdynamics
Re: How to control dc motor torque using H Bridge?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2018, 02:40:24 pm »
1) Broadly (in beginner terms) for a motor, Current = Torque and Voltage = Speed of that motor.  So to control motor torque you need to control motor current.

2) The current that gets driven through a motor depends on 3 things (broadly speaking, don't write in to point out that there's lot of other more complicated things going on.....!!)  a) the voltage you apply to that motor (supplied by the motor driver)  2) the Backemf of the motor (the voltage generated by the motor vs it's rotational speed and c) the impedance of that motor (a mixture of inductance(AC) and resistance(DC).

3) Generally therefore, you'll need to measure the current that is being supplied to the motor, and use some form of closed loop controller to apply a suitable drive voltage to the motor to drive the current through it that you want.  Remember though that a motor acts in 4 quadrants!  (Forwards motor, Forwards generate, Reverse motor, Reverse generate) so your current sensing and driving may need to both be bi-polar