Author Topic: How to drive a old controllerless lcd? Hitachi LM236XB  (Read 5933 times)

Offline funder_benzTopic starter

How to drive a old controllerless lcd? Hitachi LM236XB
« on: November 11, 2014, 02:13:19 am »
Hi there, this is my first post here. I saw some videos on youtube about Dave, and I think that this is the right place for me to find an answer.

Well, I'm not an expert at all, I've been messing around and being interested to electronics since when i was a child, now I want to learn something new.

My goal is to make an audio spectrum analyzer, so I was thinking about which visual device will be the best choice to display what I want.

Some time ago I bought an old Aval Spotlink "The Teleterminal", it was working, but in fact, useless, so I thought to use its lcd for my project as its big enough and reminds me to my gameboy somehow.

Actually I've got an arduino, and I've tried to hook up the thing up and figure out how does it work. I've found some info on the net, but really, not very useful to me.

I need to study a lot to be able to understand how this device works, probably it's not the best piece of hardware to start with, but anyway, I don't want to give up, absolutely.

This thing needs a good refresh rate, which is (I think) impossible to achieve with only an arduino and no "interface" between it and the lcd.

But, that Aval Spotlink, made in the 90's did it, so there should be a way to do that.

Probably, the best thing it's to hook up a logic analyzer to the Spotlink, power it up and see what happens with a logic analyzer, but it's not working anymore because I've disconnected some parts from the mainboard (DOH). Anyway, I don't have a logic analyzer, only a 20 mhz analog oscilloscope with memory function.