Author Topic: How to I measure time between sending serial data and receiving it?  (Read 2077 times)

Offline francoisgenoliniTopic starter

Hi,

This is probably a logic analyser question.

I am a software engineer, originally trained as an electronics engineer (some time ago, in the 1980's).

I would like to measure the time it takes for a system under test to process serial data.

I have one unit under test with one serial input port (RS-232) and one serial output port (RS-232).
The unit under test does some calculation after input, and then outputs.
The objective is to measure the (output - input) time of about 100 milliseconds (or small multiples of this), and be able to see the variations (how many milliseconds or tens of milliseconds variation could there be).

So far we have connected the unit under test to a standard Windows PC (no special precautions or preparations).  This PC sends the serial data to the unit under tests, then waits for the response, and calculates the time taken between sending the test serial data, and receiving the result.
This PC uses serial to USB converters, uses .Net and a user interface and logs all results to file.

I would like now to have an independent alternative set of measurements.
First I will use an industrial PC with a special chipset that has multiple serial ports connected directly to the motherboard, no USB conversion.  I intend to recompile a customised real-time version of the Linux kernel in a command line only Linux distribution, and then log the results to memory.
I would have more confidence in the reliability of the data I get from this Linux box due to its much simpler make up, and the fact that I have more control over what runs on the system.

Then I would like to use a logic analyser.