Author Topic: How to increase capacitance of home made power supply?  (Read 14736 times)

Offline SyllithTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
How to increase capacitance of home made power supply?
« on: October 29, 2016, 04:28:23 am »
I've built a power supply out of a step down transformer (12.9V), rectified it with a 30A full rectifier, and added a couple 12000UF (20V) caps to make a bench test power supply. I'm a car audio installation tech and I want to use it for testing radios, amps, or anything really that runs off 12VDC. It works for the most part but there are a few problems with it.

First, I noticed the caps are filling up to about 16VDC, even though they're getting 13. I think this is because I don't have a bleeder resistor on there but I'd like to know specifically why they fill up to 16 in the first place? Why that number? What's the best way to limit this to 13V?

This brings me to my second problem. It drops to 9 volts with only a .85A load. This is clearly unacceptable. Not when my goal is more around 10A. Now of course this supply is unregulated at the moment and I could definitely just look up a schematic to solve this issue but I wouldn't learn anything that way would I? I want to know exactly how each component plays a part and how it affects the circuit. I was thinking about adding a bunch of smaller caps as well. I'm thinking these will fill quicker than the 2 large ones and perhaps help somehow? I've noticed many PC power supplies and such use many different sized caps. I know smaller caps help with higher frequency applications so I don't think adding them would hurt. I don't think this will help overall capacitance much though.