Author Topic: Using scope to measure amp volume bias  (Read 4021 times)

Offline adauphinTopic starter

• Supporter
Using scope to measure amp volume bias
« on: September 04, 2012, 04:03:36 am »
This would be my first attempt at using my new found friend...Tek 465B. I want to get started with this scope to learn it and eventually master it so bear with me.

Once I start using it, all the instruction will sink in and I will surely learn quick. What I want to perform is a measurement on both channels using a mono test tone, likely 1kHz, and see where my system is giving me a higher left channel bias.

I can tell the left is louder but just slightly, enough to concern me. I used a sound meter and came up with about a 1-1.5db bias to the left. 1db with the CD and 1.5db with the turntable. I have moved about every cable around and still come up with a left bias. Likely a preamp but not sure.

From a complete beginners standpoint, how would I connect the scope to the speaker leads or speaker terminals to perform this task?

Having a dual trace I should be able to see both and compare values. I'm not sure on the max amount of power the scope can test and after looking at the manual and watching a few videos, I'm still uncertain.

I have a grasp on most of the settings on the scope but would need assistance on selecting the proper functions. Again, after a few times I will need to ask less and less questions but for the first time, I will need as much help as possible. A simple button left depressed or not will obviously change things.

This is for a home 2CH setup also.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Online vk6zgo

• Super Contributor
Re: Using scope to measure amp volume bias
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2012, 08:38:22 am »
You had me off on the wrong track with the term "bias",until read the rest of your posting.
"Bias" actually has a precise meaning when applied to amplifiers,so "difference" would be better.