Author Topic: how to properly use a Tektronix P6046 differential probe?  (Read 5365 times)

Offline crazyhogTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
how to properly use a Tektronix P6046 differential probe?
« on: July 22, 2017, 10:52:37 pm »
Hi all,

I am doing self study of EE.  I got a Tek P6046 differential probe from ebay (in very good condition).  I discover the measurements made with the probe are lower than what I had expected.  Since I am a newbie, I am not confident that I've properly hook things up.  Before I go changing the probe's calibration, I'd like to first verify if I've made any user error.

My test setup:
lab power supply DC output: 800mv
oscilloscope channel 1: passive probe, yellow trace, measured ~800mv
oscilloscope channel 2: p6046 diff probe, blue trace, measured ~600mv using 50 ohm termination

I've connected the p6046 diff probe according to the manual (see attached manual screen capture)
probe amplifier -> bnc patch cable -> 50 ohm terminator -> oscilloscope

See "tek diff prob 50 ohm.jpg".  Notice
- the 50 ohm terminator circled in red 
- channel 1, yellow trace, passive probe, reading 800mv
- channel 2, blue trace, P6046 diff probe, reading ~600mv

I also experimented terminating with 100 ohm.  See "tek diff probe 100 ohm.jpg".  Notice I simply use a 100 ohm resistor as a terminator.  With 100 ohm termination, the passive probe and differential probe are basically in agreement! 

I've also tried no terminator and the diff probe measurement overshoots and went off screen.   

Also note that I've measured the resistance of the bnc patch cable which is ~0 ohm.   I do believe the patch cable has a "characteristic impedance" rating of 50 ohm.  However, I've not study transmission line theory yet and I am not sure it is the right cable to use.  Is my understanding correct that a bnc patch cable can be rated with "characteristic impedance" of 50 ohm but the measured resistance (with DC) is 0 ohm?