Author Topic: How to set up temperature for Hakko FX 888  (Read 5838 times)

Offline ErdemTopic starter

How to set up temperature for Hakko FX 888
« on: July 20, 2013, 10:51:52 pm »
Hi there.

I am new to electronics.  I recently purchased a Hakko FX 888 soldering station as my first temperature controlled soldering station.  I am looking for recommendations on best default temperature to use when soldering and how to set the temperature of the Hakko FX 888 station.

I am using mainly 1.0 mm 63/37 solder on through hole components.

According to instruction manual:

C. Setting the temperature
1- Set the temperature control knob to the desired temperature.
2- Lock the knob.
After setting the desired temperature, tighten the hexagon socket head cap screw on the underside of the knob mount using the supplied hexagon wrench. Turn the knot clockwise to tighten the knob lock.

This confused me a bit. If I want to change the temperature of the soldering station should I lock the knob every time after setting the temperature.

Should I use it without locking the temperature control knob?

I bought a spare T18 series soldering iron tip. (T18-D16) I think it is compatible with lead-free solder. I wonder what is the default tip which comes with soldering station.

Also is it ok to use same soldering tip for both lead-free and normal soldering work.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

The following users thanked this post: itsme_Bernie

Offline Donny M. Carter

• Carter Christmas Lights
Re: How to set up temperature for Hakko FX 888
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 02:07:16 am »
Here's a great video for you! Be sure to watch all three!

The following users thanked this post: itsme_Bernie

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 02:18:57 am »
You don't need to lock the knob as a home user. The locking feature is intended for production environments where the soldering temperature should be kept fixed and not disturbed accidentally.