Author Topic: How to stabilize the millivolt signal of mains  (Read 1183 times)

Offline mheruianTopic starter

• Contributor
How to stabilize the millivolt signal of mains
« on: August 19, 2018, 12:43:54 pm »
Good day folks,

I am creating an AC signal small enough to act as a signal (like sensor value) on a PMIC. I want to use it like a testing rig for PMICs before actual setup to check if PMIC really works. Also to test it when an inverted phase is fed on it. I research a lot of ways to do this but I chose the easiest one since I'm limited to components and I am just getting started to know the basics stuffs of electronics (my knowledge are just around voltage dividers and stuffs :scared:).

I choose using the mains itself since I'll have the free sine wave phasing etc. for me to use since i needed a sine wave analog signal to be fed on the PMIC analog voltage input. But since mains are high voltage and analog voltage input of PMIC accepts around 250mV only, as to be used also on actual, using voltage divider was my way to do it where I make the R2 to be variable to meet analog voltage values from 10mV to 250mV. I also included inverting op amp since as I said I wanted to test it also in inverted phase.

My newbie basic circuit works like this:

now, when values are around above 190mV, signal is quite stable (random 190mV - 192mV), but when it reaches like 12mV, the signal is unstable like it'll go random 12mV - 12.9mV - 13.3mV - 11.7mV - 13.8mV, etc etc. which is not tolerable for me. I am fine if atleast it'll have a ±0.3mV deviation from the desired value like 12.0mV - 11.7mV - 12.3mV but more than that, i wouldn't get my target values of: 12.4mV, 13.0mV, 13.6mV, etc. that are lowest.

Now, i tried doing some filtering like putting mylars after voltage divider or using voltage follower or even AC coupled voltage follower to make it stable etc. but failed.