Author Topic: Induction heaters - the theory  (Read 4073 times)

Offline drogusTopic starter

• Contributor
Induction heaters - the theory
« on: January 14, 2019, 01:08:59 pm »
Hi,

I'm a noob in electronics and I recently got really interested in induction heaters. Eventually I'd like to build one (mains powered, maybe 2-3kW), but for now I'm trying to learn the theory needed to build one.

A bit of background: I'm a software programmer and I started learning electronics a few years ago. I know basic principles of passive elements and my most advanced project involving analog electronics was a 10A buck converter without using a dedicated IC for control (it was a lot of fun :D).

So I'm looking for resources that would be good for learning more stuff that is involved in designing an induction heater. Preferably books and preferably something aimed at beginners, but online resources will work as well. Just to clarify - I don't necessarily look only for resources on how to exactly build an induction heater, but also to learn about the concepts that are used, so stuff like AC voltage, transformers, inverters, power electronics - I guess when I understand this stuff better the tutorials that are available online will make much more sense to me. I know that it's quite a broad and not well specified request, but I'll accept broad answers ;) It can be a good book to learn electronics in general, a good book on power electronics or a book about electroheating or anything in between.

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
Re: Induction heaters - the theory
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2019, 02:07:17 pm »
This is the one I could find in my library.  I think I have another, but it's 5000+ volumes and rather disorganized at the moment.  But there are a lot of modern books on Amazon.  I just bought two more :-(

https://www.amazon.com/Frequency-Induction-Heating-Frank-Curtis/dp/0917914716

Unfortunately, Lindsay Books closed so all that is available is old stock.