Author Topic: Messure ac volume rising speed  (Read 1280 times)

Offline framlinTopic starter

Messure ac volume rising speed
« on: March 28, 2016, 07:56:51 am »
Servus,
I want to create a circuit, that can messure, how fast the volume of an ac signal rises.
If the volume reaches a defined level (starting by 0) too fast (eg under 200 ms)  a red led should go on.
If the volume has not reached the critical level at the messure-point in time, a green led should go on.
With volume the abs(volume) is meant.
The ac signal is an audio-signal (voice) genarated ba a microphone and an amplifier. So what I want to messure is, if the voice is going too loud, too fast.

My current idea is, to do this with op-amps, biased as differentiators or an op-amp biased as comparator together with a 555, to messeure the elapsed time.

I am an electronics noob, coming from the software-side of the technical world.
If anybody has any ideas or hints, how I can do this voice-volume-speed-mesurement, I would appreciate this very much.

Offline michaeliv

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Messure ac volume rising speed
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 08:26:25 am »
A purely analog circuit for this would be difficult to construct if you don't have a trigger in that would tell you when to start measuring.
Do you have a trigger in? As in do you press a button and after 200ms the device will either flash red or green depending on whether the volume increased too fast in the previous 200ms ?
An easier solution would be an arduino. The built-in ADC of an arduino can sample at about 10k/s. This should be enough to give you good accuracy. And it will be much easier to implement the logic in software.

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2016, 09:34:08 am »
@michaeliv: thanks for your answer.
I wanted to have a short silence-period as a trigger. So there is no button, but if there is silence followed by a small volume of the voice, the messurement should start.