Author Topic: Interfacing High power LED Driver and PC with MATLAB?  (Read 2695 times)

Offline abhaymvTopic starter

• Contributor
Interfacing High power LED Driver and PC with MATLAB?
« on: September 01, 2013, 05:44:27 pm »
Hey all!

I'm driving a string of high power LEDs (~700 mA) using an HV9910 LED Driver.

http://www.premier-electric.com/files/supertex/pdf/hv9910.pdf

The output current of HV9910 (and hence LED intensity) is controllable by an input PWM_D of the LED Driver. PWM_D pin needs an external PWM input whose duty cycle controls the LED intensity.

Can I use MATLAB to generate a PWM waveform and use one of the ports in my Laptop (USB/Ethernet/Audio) to send this waveform to the LED driver? I saw somewhere that computer ports do not support the bandwidth required for PWM signals. But can't I just send a sequence of binary data as PWM? Eg:

11000000 for a duty cycle of 1/4?

I'm a newbie when it comes to interfacing. Thus please forgive anything idiotic I may have said here.

Offline Skimask

• Super Contributor
Re: Interfacing High power LED Driver and PC with MATLAB?
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2013, 08:03:21 pm »
Part 3
I'm a newbie when it comes to interfacing. Thus please forgive anything idiotic I may have said here.

Part 4
I saw somewhere that computer ports do not support the bandwidth required for PWM signals. But can't I just send a sequence of binary data as PWM?
I didn't take it apart.
I turned it on.

The only stupid question is, well, most of them...

Save a fuse...Blow an electrician.

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2013, 08:23:06 pm »
Option one: just try it!

Option two: tiny microcontroller listening over a serial interface/USB to generate the PWM signal.
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Offline AndrejaKo

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2013, 08:27:23 pm »
I see two ways to do this: