Author Topic: Is coding an Arduino considered real embedded programming?  (Read 19976 times)

Offline AQUAMANTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Is coding an Arduino considered real embedded programming?
« on: July 14, 2016, 06:52:28 pm »
I need to get a new job

I live in a town where there are loads of jobs available in the Wireless/Telecomms sector
There are loads of jobs for embedded software programming and presumably all the technical jobs in these companies require some ability to program

I have a PhD in Power Electronics

My only experience in programming (and for anything wireless) is using an Arduino to make a remote control helipcopter. I always thought this was never worth mentioning because its an Arduino and I thought it was not real programming.
Other than that I have programmed PICs loads in my teenage years, 1 small robot project with an 8051 at university, and DSPs for controlling a converter including monitoring its behaviour.

I barely have any idea how to start a program but is it worth mentioning in a cover letter for example that I have programmed microcontrollers before? Ill be applying for any job they will give me in these companies.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 06:55:47 pm by AQUAMAN »

Offline Len

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Is coding an Arduino considered real embedded programming?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 07:08:25 pm »
It's a program written in C++, if you wrote it then it's programming. (Yes, the "Arduino language" is C++ compiled by the GCC compiler.)

[Edited to add:] You probably want to be careful about claiming that you have a lot of programming experience.

I like to follow Ferguson's Rule of Resumé Writing: "Never claim anything on your resumé that you can't learn in two weeks." :)
« Last Edit: July 14, 2016, 07:10:41 pm by Len »
DIY Eurorack Synth: https://lenp.net/synth/

Online metrologist

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2016, 07:08:42 pm »