Author Topic: Keeping daughter board asleep after the microcontroller goes to sleep  (Read 4914 times)

Offline cryptykTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi!
I'm new at this, so forgive my naivete.  I have a Spark Core attached to a VS1053 (mp3 player) breakout board.  I'm measuring current with the [awesome] uCurrent Gold device.

When the system is up and running, the VS1053 board consumes about 35mA.  When I drive the reset pin low on the VS1053, the current drops to about 4mA.  The problem is that after I put the Spark Core to sleep, the current draw for the VS1053 jumps to about 55mA. 
My hypothesis is that when the Spark goes to sleep, the GPIO pin I use to drive the VS1053 reset low starts floating.  I guess this doesn't account for the *increased* draw of 55mA vs. the regular 35mA, though.

Not sure where to go from here.  Any thoughts on solutions or troubleshooting would be awesome. 
Thanks!
Ryan

Offline kolonelkadat

• Regular Contributor
  • Obviously, windows are central to Windows.
    • Force Project X
maybe put a mosfet switch on the power for the peripherals? that way the micro goes to sleep, the mosfet turns off, then none of the peripherals get power.

maybe also have a google for pull-up and pull-down resistors.

• Contributor
Awesome.  I'll go look at mosfets.  I use pull-* resistors on my switches, so I'm familiar with them.  Not sure how they apply here, though?

Thanks,
Ryan

Offline PeterFW

• Frequent Contributor
    • Stuff that goes boom
Awesome.  I'll go look at mosfets.

First you should be shure that it is the floating reset pin.
To be shure, hardwire reset to ground and send the spark into the power safe mode.
If this works a simple pull-down resistor on the reset pin should keep it in power-down/reset if the MCU output floats.

If the power still is high, disconnect the VS1053 to be shure that draws the power, if so, only then go for the FET :)

Offline kolonelkadat

• Regular Contributor
  • Obviously, windows are central to Windows.