Author Topic: Lattice MachXO2 JTAG Programming?  (Read 4204 times)

Offline TheAdmiraltyTopic starter

• Contributor
Lattice MachXO2 JTAG Programming?
« on: February 23, 2017, 11:09:34 pm »
Evening, everyone!

Just a quick question for anyone who's implemented a Lattice MachXO2 for any reason.  I understand that Diamond supports programming via an FT2232.  I've never used one of these chips before, and have been referencing Lattice's breakout board schematics and obviously the datasheet quite a bit, but am still wondering about a couple things before I have a board fabricated:
  • I don't see any connections to either JTAGENB or PROGRAMn on these breakout boards, other than to external GPIOs, but it sounds to me like both of them need to be pulled in some direction to have the FPGA hold for reprogramming of the internal flash.  Can anyone clarify the purpose of these two pins?
  • The FT2232 sounds like it will need configured with FTDI's FT_PROG.  Is there anything exactly that needs dumped to the external EEPROM to have the chip be usable by Diamond for JTAG programming?

Or for that matter, does anyone have any experience with a single-chip FPGA of this class (specifically the XO2-4000) that is relatively easy to get working with minimal supporting circuitry?

Much appreciated!
« Last Edit: February 23, 2017, 11:11:20 pm by TheAdmiralty »

The following users thanked this post: Axk

Offline mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Lattice MachXO2 JTAG Programming?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 11:32:58 pm »
Evening, everyone!

Just a quick question for anyone who's implemented a Lattice MachXO2 for any reason.  I understand that Diamond supports programming via an FT2232.  I've never used one of these chips before, and have been referencing Lattice's breakout board schematics and obviously the datasheet quite a bit, but am still wondering about a couple things before I have a board fabricated: