Author Topic: Learning experiences from graduated engineers and engineering students  (Read 5727 times)

Offline darko31Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hello everyone, I'm a first year Mechatronics student, and currently I'm still under a shock and awe caused by sheer amount of knowledge that professors are teaching us. I mean, math, math everywhere, integrals and formulas, numbers are nowhere to be seen, only letters (kidding a bit). There are only glimpses of practical knowledge I've learned from high school, this forum, and Dave's videos, but maybe it's just too early for that.

I just thought that this kind of topic would be interesting for people like me and others. Engineers and students who've been through this could share their experiences, tips and tricks, and their methods of learning. It's fourth week from the start of semester and I already have work way above my head, I've decided to take a little rest of doing calculations of electric charge density, and open up this topic.

And one more question, how much of the things you've learned at uni you applied in real world work?

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Learning experiences from graduated engineers and engineering students
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 04:24:21 pm »
Engineering is essentially applied mathematics combined with a lot of empirical and observational experience from expert practitioners.

Mathematics applies to design, operation, control and cost accounting (which are the major areas of concern to engineers).

Tips to get through the information overload? Don't fall behind. It's far easier to stay on top of things than to fall behind and try to catch up.

For methods of learning, experience may vary. But for most people learning happens by doing. So you need to do the tutorial exercises, both assigned and unassigned. Most textbooks have tutorial questions at the end of each chapter. Try to do them even if you have not been specifically assigned them in class.