Author Topic: LED help  (Read 9088 times)

Offline dustdragonTopic starter

LED help
« on: October 31, 2013, 07:41:49 pm »
i have been watching alot of the eevblog videos on youtube and dicided this was the best place to ask

i am just starting out with electronics but i know some basics

i want to make something with a bunch of LED's like a display

but as i live in the uk i have to pay VAT on each LED i buy and i got alot from maplins for just over 1£ a LED

i don't have 50£ to spend on a bunch of LED's so was wundering if some one has an idear were i can find some cheap

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor
Re: LED help
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2013, 07:52:44 pm »
i have been watching alot of the eevblog videos on youtube and dicided this was the best place to ask

i am just starting out with electronics but i know some basics

i want to make something with a bunch of LED's like a display

but as i live in the uk i have to pay VAT on each LED i buy and i got alot from maplins for just over 1£ a LED

i don't have 50£ to spend on a bunch of LED's so was wundering if some one has an idear were i can find some cheap

I believe there's a term that people from the UK use called "shops"?  ;)

In the US we have Radio Shack, called Tandy in other parts of the world. Maybe find a place that repairs TVs and ask the manager if there's a local place that sells small parts.

There's a place about 30 minutes drive from where I live in North Texas, that has fairly inexpensive parts. LEDs for a few cents each. Only 8.5% local tax, yay!

Mike from Mikeselectricstuff has all sorts of parts and cool gadgets related to lighting and displays that he uses in his business of building cool artistic light displays so I'm sure he figured out a way to not pay a pound per LED. Try Ebay as well, if you buy locally you can maybe avoid all those evil taxes.