Author Topic: Li-Ion protection circuits and charging  (Read 4358 times)

Offline gregallenwarnerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Li-Ion protection circuits and charging
« on: March 07, 2014, 05:56:15 am »
I'm wanting to design a power supply for a Raspberry Pi based security camera that I'm working on. Basically, I want it to run from the mains power, but include a lithium ion battery backup in case the mains go out. I'm familiar with the dangers of Li-Ion chemistry, but I am almost a complete noob when it comes to working with them.

My question is in regards to those little protection modules that you get that are sometimes included as part of a battery pack. They say they protect against over charge/over discharge and short circuit. Here's an example of what I'm talking about:

http://www.batteryjunction.com/pcbfor7li181.html

My question is this: do these things typically handle the charging of the batteries themselves, or do I need to couple them with a proper charging circuit? I'm going to be using 2 cells in series, so I will want a balancing charger to make sure the cells stay equally charged. If I want balanced charging, am I going to need more than that little $3 protection circuit?

Offline sleemanj

• Super Contributor
  • Professional tightwad.
    • The electronics hobby components I sell.
Re: Li-Ion protection circuits and charging
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2014, 06:12:25 am »
You need a charging circuit.

The protection circuit is just that, a protection circuit, it cuts out when over-voltage/current or under voltage, it does not manage the CC/CV charging profile in any way.
~~~
EEVBlog Members - get yourself 10% discount off all my electronic components for sale just use the Buy Direct links and use Coupon Code "eevblog" during checkout.  Shipping from New Zealand, international orders welcome :-)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2014, 06:37:53 am »