Author Topic: Lithium battery PCM?  (Read 2786 times)

Offline dteckTopic starter

• Contributor
Lithium battery PCM?
« on: April 23, 2015, 01:19:02 am »
Hi everyone,
I recently bought some cheap mp3 players off ebay. Naturally I pulled it apart to see the insides and I found some lithium batteries that don't seem to have any protection modules on them. In fact they seem to charge by simply taking the USB power line and dropping it over a diode to bring the voltage down. Now these things were dirt cheap and so I'm not too surprised by this. But I plan on powering them by other means so I'm going to be left with these batteries.
I've never worked with Lithium's before other than in finished products. But I know they are a risk if mistreated in charging/discharging. So I was hoping i could pick up some protection modules and just slap them on there. I was looking at eBay auction: #221359867467 but maybe someone with a bit more experience working wit Lithium's could tell me if this would be a good way to use them.
Past that could you recommend a good ic for charging them? I don't know what I'm going to use them for but I would like to keep them charged. There is no info printed on them so I don't know anything about the capacity or ratings. All I can tell you is that they read 3.87v.

« Last Edit: April 23, 2015, 02:38:44 am by dteck »

Offline abit

• Contributor
Re: Lithium battery PCM?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2015, 02:22:24 am »
Could you think of a way reading them first? I think this should be your first priority, find a way to read the cells for their current charge level. If you make these cells into a learning experience might as well go all the way and start at the beginning? Good luck to you. I prefer LiFePo, and once or twice you get burned or blown to pieces by LiIon you are going to see it my way.

Offline dteckTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2015, 02:37:52 am »
sorry I forgot to attach a pic. I added it to the first post