Author Topic: LM2903N differential op amp  (Read 2118 times)

Offline dembkomjTopic starter

LM2903N differential op amp
« on: July 09, 2014, 02:51:35 pm »
Hi,
I have a project in which I have two analog DC voltages at different levels, let's say 10V and 2V. I want to have a circuit that takes the difference of these two voltages and produce a single DC voltage, in this case 10-2= 8V DC. I'm a mechanical engineer with basic electrical background, however this is literally my first circuit dealing with op amps. I've built many 12 & 24V DC circuits dealing with relays, resistors, switches, etc, but I'm trying to branch out into the IC world a bit.

After browsing for a chip that would do this voltage subtraction, I purchased some LM2903N dual differential op amps from Mouser.com, and tried one of them out on a solderless breadboard. I wired this up per the spec sheet as such:

Pin 1 = output
Pin 2 = IN1(-)
Pin 3 = IN1(+)
Pin 4 = GND
Pin 5 = not used
Pin 6 = not used
Pin 7 = not used
Pin 8 = 12V DC supply from a "wall wart", 1A rating on it

I'm really just trying to bench test this op-amp by itself before I incorporate it into the rest of my design, however my simple bench test proved that it did not give me the result I was looking for.

Using a Fluke 87V multimeter, I measured 11.4V DC between Pin 8 and Pin 4 of the amp (I have a 1N4004 diode downstream of my power supply for reverse polarity protection). This checked out OK. I then measured 10V DC between Pin 2 IN1(-) and Pin 4, and 2V between Pin 3 IN1(+) and Pin 4, so I know my two inputs are what they should be. However, when I checked the output Pin 1 relative to ground Pin 4 I measured 0.00V. I switched the voltages of Pins 2 and 3 relative to each other to see if that made a difference and I measured Pin 1 to Pin 4 again but got about 0.25V to 0.3V, still not the 8V differential I was expecting to see. I varied the 2VDC by a few volts but the measurement at the output did not move around.