Author Topic: LM334 as temperature sensor to PLC  (Read 3947 times)

Offline panzerschrekTopic starter

LM334 as temperature sensor to PLC
« on: March 05, 2015, 02:41:39 pm »
Hey everyone, I've got a question for you all.

I'm a college student here in Canada, and we're doing a power distribution control system, which uses as one of it's temperature sensor a cheap LM334 which we need to connect to a not so high impedance analog PLC input. I've already decided I would use a simple opamp as a buffer, but I was wondering...  The sensor, at 25°c outputs 64mV, and is directly proportional to temperature in kelvin. My question is quite simple I guess, I would like to be able to have a larger swing in voltage, since the datasheet states that it outputs 227uV/K, and that we only need to monitor temperature up to 100°c, the max output the PLC would read would be 373.15K * 227*10^-6 = 0.085V or therabout. I'm not sure I would be able to get good results with such a small voltage swing on an analog input, so again, is there a way that I can obtain, for a given small voltage swing, a larger voltage swing at the input of my buffer, which would be read by the PLC?

We don't have access to a lot of parts, generic opamps, TL082, 741, etc, and some passive of course. The goal of the project isn't to design a complete board, but rather designing a whole power system.

Anyway, I've heard of instrumentation amps, but I don't think we have access to these, maybe I could research into differential amps but we never saw those type of circuits so I'm not sure where to look at.

So, if you need anymore info, just ask, and if you have any tips and tricks, I'll willingly take them, but keep in mind that again this isn't a complete board design, simple a small circuit to somehow traduct a small signal swing into a larger one.

Offline katzohki

• Frequent Contributor
    • My Blog
Re: LM334 as temperature sensor to PLC
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2015, 03:31:25 pm »