Author Topic: Looking For a relevant EE Prof. development course to spend about £3000 on.  (Read 1435 times)

edisonobilly

Hello Everyone,

I have been reading this blog for quite a while now. I am currently struggling with an issue and I think this is one of the few places i can find good advice on what to do.

I started an electronics design and development job roughly 18 months ago, just after I graduated from university in the UK (BEng. Mechatronics). I have had previous digital electronics background. I knew very little about analogue electronics before the job, but so far I have learnt a lot. I also have good mechanical engineering background as well.

my job involves the redesign of mixed signal modules that connect to a main system. so there is a  lot of analogue skill involved as well as digital and programming.

I had some money put aside for my personal development when I started this job. I have already WELL spent some on non-engineering things like project management and general management skill development etc. I have got about £3000 left. I have been thinking of some engineering short course, some thing that I could do that will not only improve my knowledge in electronics design, but improve my cv for future job prospects. If I don't come up with something by the end of next week, the money will be gone, as in, not available for my development anymore.

Although I have learnt a lot on the current job, I still feel very incompetent in analogue electronics as I have only touched the areas related to what I have worked on. Please allow me to list a few skills that I already have, just so you have an idea on how to advice me.

1) I use altium designer quite comfortably at work as my main EDA software.

2) I have a very good understanding of microcontroller architecture and computer hardware.

3) I have good programming skills. C for programming microcontrollers that i work with(ARM, AVR, 8051 based) and just good