Author Topic: Low Cost DIY Differential Probe  (Read 2726 times)

Offline Dave_CTopic starter

• Contributor
Low Cost DIY Differential Probe
« on: August 21, 2018, 09:27:18 am »
Hi!

It's my first time posting here and I'm still relatively new ( finished learning electronics in trade school, about to start in college )
I'm not really sure if this topic should go here or in the 'Projects, Designs, and Technical Stuff' section so feel free to let me know if I should take it somewhere else.
I've been thinking about rolling my own differential probe for troubleshooting switch mode power supplies. Currently I only have schematic and I'm planning to build it on a proto - board. I'm not going to bother to design a full PCB for it.

My main requirements are:
- Minimal cost ( re-using components from scrapped projects )
- DC coupled
- At least 400V input common mode range
- 500kHz bandwidth or more
- Multiple attenuation ranges
- Ability to drive 50 Ohm Coax at full swing
- Powered by single external power supply or lab power supply
- At least 1M input impedance

DC accuracy is not a big concern here, but still I won't use 5% carbon resistors in a voltage divider  :D
I decided to use as many parts as possible from my own stock.
Long story short it's using 2 voltage dividers with instrumentation amplifier driving the output.

Dividers consist of five 220k resistors in series, with 10k and an array of nine 10k resistors in parallel (equivalent resistance of exactly 1111,(1) Ohms. Input signal is tapped off at both sides of the 10k resistor. All resistors are 1% 50ppm/K rated, 220k are also rated for higher voltage (350V). Overall Input impedance is 1,1111... MegOhm minus capacitor leakage.
Capacitors C1 - C10 are 8,2pF 500V NP0 dielectric, then a combination of caps to form 180,4pF parallel to 10k and another combination equivalent to 1,623nF. Trimmer caps are used to precisely set the capacitances to improve frequency response.