Author Topic: Mains switch makes trip device go poof  (Read 1712 times)

Offline eamoexTopic starter

• Contributor
Mains switch makes trip device go poof
« on: November 16, 2017, 01:12:40 pm »
Hi all, I'm not an engineer, I just happen to like Dave's work and have no big knowledge in electr(on)ics. But I'm sure you guys know the answer. I have a wall outlet at my home that has a power strip connected. The strip has a switch and a few devices hooked up to it, including a PC with a beefy supply, its monitor and a desk lamp. The trip device in the garage often goes poof when I switch the strip on. I know what causes this (or I think I know –– "transients", is it?) and I know that I can switch the devices on one by one to avoid making the trip device flip.

Question: is there something I can make, or a device I could add to the circuit, to retain the "one button switches all" functionality without the trip to go "whaaaaaa"?

Note: I can solder and I know basic electronics parts (I've fooled around modding Commodore Amigas back in the day).

Edit: I know it's high voltage, high current. I will not put myself in danger. I don't muck around with mains. I'm just curious if a solution, theoretical or ready-made, exists.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2017, 01:17:06 pm by eamoex »

Offline richard.cs

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics engineer from Southampton, UK.
    • Random stuff I've built (mostly non-electronic and fairly dated).
Re: Mains switch makes trip device go poof
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2017, 01:30:38 pm »
Assuming the trip that goes is an RCD / GFCI then this is usually caused by a combination of two things:
1) One device plugged into the strip has a significant leakage between earth and neutral (or a leak in the power strip).
2) The switch is double pole, but (due to mechanical tolerances, etc.) usually makes the live before the neutral.