Author Topic: Manual Availability  (Read 2268 times)

Offline RickieSaladTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Manual Availability
« on: December 28, 2015, 12:43:24 am »
So I'm relatively new to electronics and I'd like to build up the test gear I have so I might be able to do more and more as time goes on.  I thought the best way to do that might be to find a little older gear that is damaged or broken off of Ebay or other sources.  Not only could I get some decent gear for a relatively decent price since it's broken, but I also get to learn how to fix the gear before I can use it.  Sort of a win-win situation.  I was thinking about it and I think that, especially as a newer person to electronics that the service manuals would be an indispensable resource for being able to track down and fix issues.  So I think when I'm shopping for broken gear I'd like to invest in gear from companies that have robust and easily available service manuals.  So my question for folks who know more than I do, is in your experience what manufacturers are good about their service manuals?  Also, maybe what companies should I avoid buying equipment from because their manuals and documentation are notoriously hard to get?   I know that HP has some great manuals but that is the extent of my knowledge. I wonder if Agilent/Keysight are as good with manuals with newer gear as the older HP stuff is?  Hmmmm...

Anyway,  thanks for taking the time.  Happy holidays for everyone!

Offline AlphZeta

• Regular Contributor
    • Kerry D. Wong
Re: Manual Availability
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2015, 03:52:06 pm »