Author Topic: MC34063 layout advice  (Read 2288 times)

Offline djacobowTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • takin' it apart since the 70's
MC34063 layout advice
« on: November 04, 2018, 04:58:38 pm »
I've made a PCB that has a MC34603 on it stepping down about 40V to 5V. It's my first project with a switching regulator on it. The regulator works fine, as near as I can tell, and I'm happy with the output ripple.

I'm spinning the board for other reasons and thought I'd really like to get the layout for the buck regulator "right". After looking at the advice in the datasheet and around the web, I'm having a hard time taking everyone's advice simultaneously. Keep the input and output current loops short is easy enough, but not every component can be "closest" to the regulator. I'm also unsure about whether there should be a ground flood fill and whether there should be ground plane on the back, and if so, whether they should be stitched up. I think this primarily will effect the current flow in the diode. I also don't have the right gear to see if this is emitting much EMI, so I have to rely on best practices. Also unsure if it's okay to have the ground fill go under the inductor -- though in this layout there is no way to hook up that diode and timing cap without at least a trace going under.

So, the layout is attached. I am showing two views, with the polygon connections and floods and without, so that you can see the component placement more clearly. But the fills are there on the real board.

In the picture. C3, C12, C14 are on the input. C17, C16, and C15 are on the output. D3 is the freewheeling diode. C13 is the timing cap. R24 and R25 are the feedback network. R12,R13,R14 make up the collecor resistance.

D4 and D5 are upstream of the regulator, rectifying an AC input.

I"m looking for advice. Does this seem reasonable?
« Last Edit: November 04, 2018, 05:02:27 pm by djacobow »

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: MC34063 layout advice