Author Topic: Measuring CAPs in circuit?  (Read 2269 times)

Offline mortos360Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Measuring CAPs in circuit?
« on: December 13, 2012, 03:28:08 pm »
My network switch died few days ago and since I have 2 of them, I figured quick out that the PS was dead.
Since CAPs seem to be 1 of the main problems with most electronics :)   I went and compared the values of the CAPs on the 2 PSs, broken vs. functional and
found out quick that 1 CAP had no reading at all in my Multimeter. So I replaced it with a new CAP and switch is working fine again.

My question is, was I just lucky that this cap had no reading or is it OK to measure CAPs in circuit?
Second question is, can you trust a multimeter or do you really need a ESR meter?

I am very new to electronics and this was the first time I even tryed to measure a CAP :)  but since my Agilent U1272A had this capability, I
thought why not :)

Offline PhynixViking

• Regular Contributor
    • Phynix Viking at YouTube
Re: Measuring CAPs in circuit?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2012, 04:22:21 pm »
The correct way to measure caps is to remove them then test them. Which is not what you want to hear, lol. I've been repairing things for many years and yea... dead caps come in the shop every day so much that when we get a computer we check for blown caps (both on the motherboard and power supply) even if the computer turns on fine and boots fine. So many time one will be bad when not all are.

Now, I know someone is going to post about not doing what I'm about to tell you to do... and how its not right, or w/e, but its worked PERFECT (almost every time) for me.

What I do is I take my multimeter and put it to the continuity setting and test on Pos and Neg of a capacitor.
I listen for the beep and estimate how long, then I reverse my probes and listen again.
If the beeps are about the same, normally that capacitor or set of capacitors are working.