Author Topic: Meter for beginner (Should I spend a lot?)  (Read 8783 times)

Offline XDroidie626Topic starter

• Contributor
Meter for beginner (Should I spend a lot?)
« on: July 08, 2015, 09:23:00 am »
Okay so I am looking at getting my first multimeter, I have no idea what to look for.
Im not looking to spend too much say around £20-30
So what would you recommend for a beginner?

Many thanks

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Meter for beginner (Should I spend a lot?)
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2015, 09:29:32 am »
Aprobe AM220 or AM240 if you want temperature measurement.

Offline KJDS

• Super Contributor
    • my website holding page
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2015, 09:37:22 am »
What do you want to use it for?

Offline XDroidie626Topic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2015, 09:53:22 am »
What do you want to use it for?
Very simple stuff, nothing too big as I am still learning, more for just volt reading

Offline kerrsmith

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2015, 09:56:37 am »
If you just want one to use on low voltage projects (Arduino, small amplifiers etc) you could get a really cheap one like the following:

http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-DT-830B-Screen-Digital-Multimeter-Volt-Ohm-Meter-Ammeter-p-50035.html

I have one of these and it is great for this kind of stuff - I would not use it for anything other than low voltage applications but for me this is fine. For basic stuff you do not need super high accuracy and I have built loads of things using this cheapy meter. The only issue I had with it is the probes had no strain relief so snapped off but they are so cheap I just got another set of them (hot glue would probably fix this issue).

There are a couple of interesting / funny videos about these cheap meters by CNLohr on Youtube: