Author Topic: Methods to reduce the audio output  (Read 2142 times)

Offline gabric098Topic starter

Methods to reduce the audio output
« on: February 23, 2017, 10:30:24 am »
Hi everyone,
this is my very first post on this forum, I'm a total newbie so, forgive my silly questions.
I'm currently working on a morse code project. I have a paddle morse key which plugs into a keyer circuit (http://www.hamgadgets.com/ULTRA-PICOKEYER) which generates the CW audio tone (around 600Hz). This tone however is  full of harmonics and needs to go through another small circuit (it's an audio filter, http://www.4sqrp.com/HiPerMite.php) which will give filter out the harmonics and make the tone pleasant.
Now, the issue is that the audio volume coming out from the the keyer circuit is a bit too much for the audio filter, so I'd need to reduce it in some way.
A friend suggested to use a step-down audio transformer, he suggested 1000:8 ohm. Are there any other ways to achieve the volume reduction? What are the advantages of using an audio transformer?

Thanks
Gab

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
Re: Methods to reduce the audio output
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 11:35:06 am »
W/o keyer schematic a bit of a guess, try a 1K pot at output of
of keyer. That should not shift appreciably the filter characteristics.

However a 1 K pot may be too much of a load for keyer, if that's the
case raise it, experiment. Try 5k.

Regards, Dana.

Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2017, 02:09:14 pm »
Hi Dana,
thanks for your reply.
I've attached the schematic of the keyer, I'm using the "phone" output
Using a variable resistor is what I was thinking about too... What's the difference (pro/cons) of using an audio transformer instead?

Thanks
Gab

Offline Codebird

• Regular Contributor