Author Topic: Monitoring audio oscillators on analog oscilloscopes  (Read 7684 times)

Offline mrs_audio_boyTopic starter

Monitoring audio oscillators on analog oscilloscopes
« on: September 03, 2016, 03:56:45 pm »
Dear regulars and pros,

I am a beginner and this is my very first post. I have some questions but I probably will confuse things and especially the technical terms, so bear with me.

I am an analog synthesizer enthusiast and in order to learn more about analog sound synthesis, I want to monitor audio signals to both hear and see them to understand them better. In order to "stay true" to the analog world, I bought an analog oscilloscope, the Grundig GO 15Z. It is a 15 Mhz twin-channel, technical details can be found here: http://www.radiomuseum.org/forumdata/upload/d_Grundig_GO15-Z_man.pdf. It was quite cheap but it is working quite well as far as I can tell. As with all analogue equipment, I like how it displays the signals, without those digital pixel "staircases". In order to monitor the audio signals of an Arturia Microbrute analog synthesizer, I hook up the Grundig to the Microbrute's headphones output using a BNC-to-3.5mm adapter cable. When playing back a note in the upper register on the Microbrute, I adjust Grundig's time base switch accordingly; this switch is labelled "s/cm", the values range from 0.1s/cm to 0.3 microseconds/cm. When, for example, I play the highest C, I adjust the switch to 0.1m and I can see very clearly the waveform, with several wavelengths on the Grundig's screen displayed. Usually, I like to display two, three or four wavelengths, to get a clear overview of the audio signal. The signal is displayed very sharply and the picture is very stable, so that I can "study" unhurriedly the different effects of applying the cutoff, resonance or pulse width to the audio signal using the Miscrobrute's knobs. So far so good.