Author Topic: Most important concept?  (Read 6147 times)

duskglow

Most important concept?
« on: June 10, 2013, 06:52:40 pm »
So let's say that I was a complete beginner and walked up to each of you and asked what you thought the most important concept to learn in getting started with electronics was.  What would you answer?

Keep in mind the assumption is I'm a rank beginner and know nothing but how to plug a cord into a socket.

Now, let's say that I was not a rank beginner, but was asking you that question anyway.  How would your answer change?

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Most important concept?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2013, 06:56:27 pm »
So let's say that I was a complete beginner and walked up to each of you and asked what you thought the most important concept to learn in getting started with electronics was.  What would you answer?

Passion. If you're curious enough and put the work in you can learn anything. Just start trying to do things and you'll learn a surprising amount from trying to fix your mistakes.

Now, let's say that I was not a rank beginner, but was asking you that question anyway.  How would your answer change?

It wouldn't.
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2013, 06:58:52 pm »
Ohm's law. The simple relationship between voltage, current, and the medium through which the current is flowing.

If you really understand Ohm's law, you'll understand why things get hot, why smaller devices run faster, and why sticking your finger in a wall socket is painful while birds can sit on power lines without feeling a thing.

If you weren't a rank beginner, I'd give you an odd look and wonder why you were even asking the question.

duskglow

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2013, 07:00:26 pm »