Author Topic: Motors and W versus VA  (Read 5126 times)

Offline SimonTopic starter

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Motors and W versus VA
« Reply #25 on: January 15, 2019, 08:07:05 pm »
I see, some assholes they have at this university I am studying with! The module for this question is about motors, not how power is billed and how on earth am I to know how power companies think when it is totally irrelevant to the subject I have been taught.

So you say that despite the fact that they meter the power instantly rather than simply clock up a total use (or how else do they know about the peaks) they bill the whole period at a price that assumes both opposing worse case scenarios simultaneously for the whole consumption?

If that is the case then it makes sense and I'd hate to be the customer and the question is rather irrelevant to the subject material. Last I checked i could not find a textbook on the inner workings of power companies and the course only talks about the bare bones of motors.

In the real world, the revenue meter accumulates both kWh and kVARh - two separate indicators.  At the end of the month these values are used to compute average power factor for the billing month.