Author Topic: Multimeter problem  (Read 3174 times)

Offline techie_mariaTopic starter

Multimeter problem
« on: November 22, 2012, 06:05:15 pm »
Hi everyone,

Im a newbie with this kind of stuff. Someone at work gave me a multimeter. He told me theres something wrong with it and I can try fix it myself. Trouble is I dont have a clue where to start hahaha. Anyway, every time I turn it on whether its connected to something or not it seems its not detecting anything and its somehow reading something but its start from 0 to whatever reading increasingly and slowly LOL. It doesnt change at all.
thanks.

its a megger m7027  multimeter.

Offline robrenz

• Super Contributor
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
Re: Multimeter problem
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2012, 08:29:11 pm »
Here is the manual

Offline Wytnucls

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2012, 08:29:36 pm »
Not much you can do.
Make sure there is a fresh battery in it. Open it up and look for signs of damage on the PCB.
Also look at your probes and try another set if you think the original ones may be damaged, or have loose connections at the jacks.

Offline PA0PBZ

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2012, 08:37:26 pm »
When you turn it on by just turning the big button one click it will be in AC volts measurement, and since these things are quite sensitive it is not strange that something shows up on the display. However, with the test leads in the two right most sockets and then touching the pins together it should read almost zero. Now click the big button one step further and it should be in DC volts, and you should be able to measure a battery.

Any luck with that?
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.

Offline 6502nop

• Regular Contributor
  • $EA
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2012, 09:47:13 am »