Author Topic: Multiple DS18B20 temperature sensor problem  (Read 2497 times)

Offline FreeBeerTopic starter

Multiple DS18B20 temperature sensor problem
« on: March 13, 2017, 06:54:32 pm »
Hi!

Noob here as well as in electronics in general.  (so use small words  ^-^)

As a first project with my Raspberry Pi 3, I wanted to build a multiple temperature sensor device for remote sensing a number of locations.  Having poured over the interwebz and youtubez, I was successfully able to read multiple sensors on my breadboard.  Cool so far.  So the next step was to attach the sensors to a 10 foot long length of wire to simulate "remoteness".  I wired, soldered and shrink tubed 5 sensors to 10 feet of wire each (don't have the specs handy at the moment, but should be able to get it if deemed important).  Then I connected each red, yellow and black (3.3v, one-wire, GRD) to each other (crimped, solders and shrink tubed) at the other end, with a red, yellow and black lead so I can plug it in to the breadboard.  All good - I can read all five sensors just fine.  I next build another set of 5 wires, this time with 20 feet of wire per sensor.  That worked out just fine.  I can read all sensors.

If it helps, this video is basically how I have the breadboard wired up: (two minutes in)

The problem comes in when I try to connect both sets of wires to the breadboard.  Mostly, I can't read any sensors when both sets of sensors are plugged in.  If I take one set of wires off the breadboard and insert more sensors directly on the board, I can read the 5 wire bundle and the other sensors (up to an additional 4 for a total of 9 sensors).

Can anyone explain why I can't seem to read the two sets together?  I've been pouring over videos and forums trying to figure this out, but my extreme beginnerness is showing through.  :)  Some forums seem to think that the one-wire protocol doesn't like star configurations (I'm assuming that's what I have, no?), but no explanation as to why.  Timing?