Author Topic: Multiple Feedback Bandpass filter: transfer function  (Read 13373 times)

Offline ch.snyersTopic starter

Multiple Feedback Bandpass filter: transfer function
« on: March 27, 2012, 03:24:24 pm »
Hi !

I'm a student in electrical engineering in Belgium and I use a multiple feedback bandpass filter in one of my projects.

I tried to find out the transfer function of this filter and this is what I found:

With this expression I made a Bode diagram:

Is that normal that the frequencies other than 1kHz are still amplified (not as much but still) ? Is my transfer function right ?

Thanks !

alm

Re: Multiple Feedback Bandpass filter: transfer function
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 07:58:38 pm »
I don't feel like double checking your math, but it sounds quite plausible to me that frequencies other than 1 kHz are still amplified. A filter only has so much roll off, and the gain at 1 kHz is +80 dB. At first glance, I would expect a 40 dB/decade (12 dB/octave) roll-off in the stop band, however, since this is a second order filter.

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 08:00:34 pm »
Without doing a single calculation it is obvious your transfer function is wrong. The units don't add up. Vs/Ve should be a unitless factor, but your Vs/Ve is in Ohms.
I delete PMs unread. If you have something to say, say it in public.
For all else: Profile->[Modify Profile]Buddies/Ignore List->Edit Ignore List

alm

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2012, 08:19:14 pm »
Good catch, I missed that.

Offline ejeffrey

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2012, 09:16:44 pm »
In any case, once you figure out the units the plot of your transfer function looks about right for this sort of filter.  You can increase the Q which will make the filter 'sharper' around the center frequency, but it becomes more sensitive to both component tolerances and the limited gain-bandwidth product of the opamp.

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor