Author Topic: My First Fluke: The 87V Crash Course  (Read 6454 times)

Offline jedidoveTopic starter

My First Fluke: The 87V Crash Course
« on: February 04, 2011, 09:44:34 pm »
Hey all,

I'm a Physics/Math undergrad soon to be Computer Engineering/EE major at an engineering school (5-6 year joint degree program). My main research and interest is in Quantum Computation, and I plan to purse a EECS PhD as well as possible a Physics PhD. In my spare time, I have a lot of hobbies, some of which include electronics and mentoring a high school robotics team.

When I bought my first personal electronics gear, I was smart enough to dish out for a good Weller soldering station. However, I was stingy with the meter and couldn't afford much so I got a cheapo "MASTECH" DMM. I guess that actually turned out to be a good thing because if gave me a good excuse to get a good meter now. The other day at my robotics team I saw they were working with a similar DMM to mine (same casing). I had just finished teaching some kids how to solder so I was going to show them how to use a DMM. I grab the DMM and go to measure the voltage on our 12v battery......~0.02V unstable.....same thing same thing...I was embarrassed at first because I said "watch this" and then nothing worked lol. I get the instructor...same thing........then it jumps to 12.75V all of a sudden. Needless to say the DMM was garbage and the instructor wasn't too happy either. They had grabbed the meter from a Physics lab.