Author Topic: My first try at making a pcb  (Read 10789 times)

Offline Fluxed MatterTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
My first try at making a pcb
« on: June 17, 2014, 12:48:22 am »
Well today was my first time attempting to make a PCB at home.  Here is my story. I have been planning and preparing for some time now. I chose to do the UV exposure of photoresist method to make my board. To start out with I am using the presensitized boards from MG chemicals. Since this is my first try I am trying a simple design that I found on the internet. I am using a nice EPROM eraser that I found at my local surplus to do the exposing. I wanted to try a more environmentally friendly way of doing the developing and etching. For the developing there really is not, but for the etching I decide to try using vinegar and peroxide for the etchant. I am using transparencies for the artwork mask that are for copy machines. I notice they distorted when run through the laser printer but since I was only using the the edge for a very small board I feel it was not significant enough that it did not matter. I was not sure how long to expose the the board so I did 10 minutes. Overkill I know, but I did want to take a chance. While I was exposing I mixed up the developer. 1 part developer to 10 parts water.  When the timer went off I developed the board, but in my excitement that the process was working I over developed it. On my second try I exposed for 15 minute, again overkill, but this time around I did not over develop it. I only left it in the solution for about 30 seconds. Hurray! Now it was time to etch so I mixed up the solution of 100 ml of vinegar and 100 ml of peroxide because this was based on what I had read was the mixture. In goes the board. The reaction is slow. I feel that it not working as well as I had read. During my research I read that adding salt helped. So after about 30 minutes I added some In hopes of speeding up the etch. I kept waiting and adding a little salt ev