Author Topic: Need help designing a charger for NiMh batteries  (Read 4799 times)

Offline engineheatTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Need help designing a charger for NiMh batteries
« on: July 12, 2017, 11:49:04 pm »
Hello.

I want to design a charging circuit to charge 2 NiMh AA batteries in series, via a 5V USB Micro cable. I have some basic electronics knowledge but not very in depth, so your help/suggestions would be appreciated.

OPTION 1:
So far, I have looked at TI's BQ2002 chip. Unfortunately, the diagram they have in the data sheet (below) is not very helpful:

The diagram above seems too simple and does not provide enough guidance on how to actually build an application. Then I found a spec sheet but the circuit in there seems pretty complex: http://www.ti.com/lit/ug/sluu007b/sluu007b.pdf   I wonder if the diagram in page 3 of that spec sheet with the LM317T is the actual circuit I will have to build for my application?

OPTION 2:
I am also considering LTC4060 IC from Linear Technologies. It seems to require fewer external components than the BQ2002, and there seems to be even a tutorial on using it:  http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Make-a-NiMH-NiCd-Battery-Charger-Circuit/

Here is a diagram for the LTC4060, I wonder if the actual circuit will really be this simple:

OPTION 3:

Finally, there is this very detailed step by step tutorial that does not use any dedicated charger IC: http://www.stefanv.com/electronics/usb_charger.html
But it only uses temperature (thermistor) for charge termination. I feel this is not adequate if one eventually wants to build a charger that's good enough for commercial application.

----------------------------------------------------------------------