Author Topic: Need help reading NOR flash chip using ARM-USB-OCD-H JTAG device.  (Read 1573 times)

Offline Spork SchivagoTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Hello,

I'm very new to the electronic world and using the JTAG device.  I've played a little bit with PICs but would like to simply read the Macronix MX29LV800TTC-70 1MB NOR flash chip and then write it back on this Linksys WPS54G v1 Wireless Print Server.   The print server has a Marvel 88w8510 processor and 4MB of RAM.

I've found a standard 20-pin JTAG interface on this device and soldered some wires to hook it up to my ARM-USB-OCD-H JTAG device.   I've (hopefully successfully) created some files for OpenOCD.   They're as follows:

Code: [Select]
#
# linksys-wps54gv1.cfg board .cfg file for the Linksys WPS54G v1 wireless print server
#
# Boards may override chip names, perhaps based on role,
# but the default should match what the vendor uses
if { [info exists CHIPNAME] } {
   set _CHIPNAME $CHIPNAME
} else {
   set _CHIPNAME 88w8510
}

# ONLY use ENDIAN with targets that can change it.
if { [info exists ENDIAN] } {
   set _ENDIAN $ENDIAN
} else {
   set _ENDIAN little
}

# TAP identifiers may change as chips mature, for example with
# new revision fields (the "3" here).  Pick a good default; you
# can pass several such identifiers to the "jtag newtap" command.
if { [info exists CPUTAPID ] } {
   set _CPUTAPID $CPUTAPID
} else {
   set _CPUTAPID 0x159463d3
}

source [find target/88w8510.cfg]

Code: [Select]
#
# 88w8510.cfg target .cfg file for the Marvel 88w8510 processor
#
telnet_port 4444
gdb_port 3333

# interface 0

reset_config trst_only

# jtag newtap auto0 tap -irlen 4 -expected-id 0x159463d3
jtag newtap $_CHIPNAME cpu -irlen 4 -expected-id $_CPUTAPID

set _TARGETNAME $_CHIPNAME.cpu
target create $_TARGETNAME arm9tdmi -chain-position $_TARGETNAME

flash bank MX29LV800 mrvlqspi 0x0 0 0 0 $_TARGETNAME 0x46010000
# flash bank MX29LV800 cfi 0x00000000 0xfffff 1 1 $_TARGETNAME