Author Topic: Need help turning old payphone into dial-an-mp3 display  (Read 6607 times)

Offline FunvoyagerTopic starter

• Contributor
Need help turning old payphone into dial-an-mp3 display
« on: September 01, 2017, 03:43:42 am »
Hi all
I hope I'm posting in the right group.
I'm a therapist and want to put an old payphone in my waiting room that "plays" mp3 files through the handset activated either by lifting receiver and or pressing the dialpad numbers.
This is an art project mostly. I'd like patients in waiting room to lift receiver and hear positive affirmations, stories, comedy routines, etc.

I bought a payphone off ebay and I figure id use something like an iPod to store audio files on "shuffle" mode activated somehow to play to each track.  Not sure if I should have a mechanical or electronic solution.  When people lift receiver and listen, it should play a random audio until hanging up or perhaps press any digit to shuffle through random sound files. 
This should be low tech or reasonably doable for a non electronics person (me) to do.
anyone who can offer advice would be appreciated!!!
Thanks?? :)
« Last Edit: September 01, 2017, 02:32:56 pm by Funvoyager »

Offline sled

• Contributor
Re: Need help turning old payphone into dial-an-mp3 display
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2017, 01:54:38 pm »
Hey there,

most audio players like the iPod have a multi-function headphone jack that allows play/pause, track control and volume to be adjusted. I'd take one of these "headset remote controls" apart and solder extension wires to the buttons on the payphone. However basic electronics and soldering skills are needed, maybe check for a local hacker/makerspace close by that can help you.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2017, 02:30:26 pm »
Wow that's a great idea!