Author Topic: NEED HELP with Power Supply for PS3 cech-2002b tear down and calibration  (Read 4923 times)

Offline NuttyTopic starter

In an attempt to fix my PS3 (which I actually thought needed the solder reflowing for the cpu and gpu chips). I stupidly followed the advice of other people on youtube who suggested turning the potentiometers anticlockwise in the power supply, which I did. I did not mark the trimpots before altering them so I have no idea where they were originally and being someone who is all new to this electro stuff I do not know how to recalibrate it.. I think I'll need a multimeter and that's as far as my knowledge goes. I do not want to blow anything up, and I am a total novice.

So if anyone out there can offer advice, I am all ears.

Cheers

Offline lapm

• Frequent Contributor
For that sort of non existent knowledge base, what the heck are you doing trying to fix PS3 console? You just ruined any chance of getting it to warranty. BGA reflow is not something i would consider good thing to do with someone that barely knows what multimeter is.

Maybe you should try ask those same people how to set your output voltage from PSU? Calibration is something else. At least if were talking actual https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calibration. What your after is adjustment.

You do know how much voltage you need out of that PSU? How accurate it needs to be (Might require better multimeter then that 5$ special). Also where to measure this voltage your after..

My topmost advice: Take this PS3 and its powersupply to someone that knows what they are doing. Chances are high that you may damage it more.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2015, 06:30:37 am by lapm »
Electronics, Linux, Programming, Science... im interested all of it...

ps3 is out of warranty.. and I'm using it to learn on. This is the way I learn, so don't give me grief about it. :wtf: