Author Topic: Need help with SMD soldering  (Read 9163 times)

Offline dhowlandTopic starter

Need help with SMD soldering
« on: January 28, 2013, 03:45:15 am »
I feel a little silly about posting to the beginner's section as I am actually a professional in the field, however I certainly qualify as beginner level when it comes to soldering.

I recently took up a project that requires building a board with a microcontroller.  I chose an AVR with USB in a TQFP-44 package.  Designing the board was delightfully simple but actually constructing it is turning out to be deviously hard.

I knew I needed to upgrade my tools, so I got myself a Weller WES51 with a nice small screwdriver tip, some Kester 245 at 0.020", a good flux pen, thin desoldering braid and some nice Wiha ESD tweezers.  Combined with the excellent tutorials that can be found on YouTube (including Dave's), I thought I couldn't lose.  After all, I mastered through-hole soldering many years ago...

In a way I feel like I was tricked.  Everywhere I was told that surface mount soldering is no trouble at all... anyone can do it... it's a breeze!  Well it isn't, it's difficult.

No matter what I do I seem to leave far too much solder on everything, even knowing that I'm doing so.  Simply tacking a 0603 resister in place to start soldering it is a task that my hands do not seem steady enough for.  I seem to short every fifth lead on my TQFP-44, and desoldering braid is unable to pick it up even after using so much heat that entire part is oxidized and useless.  On the tutorials I watched, the solder reflows perfectly and the parts seem to magically settle on to the pad once heat is applied.  Well that doesn't happen for me, it doesn't happen at all.