Author Topic: Need Help with STM32F407 Design  (Read 1833 times)

Offline jasons520Topic starter

Need Help with STM32F407 Design
« on: April 27, 2018, 03:34:24 am »
Hi Everyone,
I have a project that i am completing, A sort of wireless version of Ambilight using the stm32f407, however, this is my first time developing a pcb for the STM32 series of processors and its a little bit out of my depth. I am wondering, will i need a usb for firmware upgrade, or can i complete it just using ST-Link using JTAG, and is my design appropriate for the development of the STM32? Or is there issues with it?

Thanks everyone in advance!

Offline pigrew

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Need Help with STM32F407 Design
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2018, 04:07:39 am »
I'm not completely sure, but I think NRST needs a pull-up resistor.

It's easiest to flash the board using a st-link. In fact, usually you have to use to use the st-link at first to flash it (I don't think the ROM bootloader supports USB, though you could use thebootloader's uart mode).

Add some extra IO debug testpoints, maybe a LED and a serial port header, too.

I don't know much about your chip, but you may want to put all of the inputs from the video chip into a single port.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2018, 04:12:51 am by pigrew »

Offline llkiwi2006

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2018, 05:29:24 am »
I'm not completely sure, but I think NRST needs a pull-up resistor.

The chip has internal pull up on NRST.

Offline andyturk

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2018, 01:18:03 am »
That schematic is difficult to read, which increases the chances of making a mistake.

There's a 2k2 pullup resistor for SCL, but I couldn't find one for SDA.

With STM32 the MCO signal an output from the clock system. It's not simply one of the crystal pins as shown in this schematic.

You don't need all the JTAG signaling with resistors and such. SWD is simpler.

Offline Lt_Flash

• Regular Contributor