Author Topic: Need tips on building a power supply! How to control current?  (Read 9123 times)

Offline AzharTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Youtube Channel
Hi all
I am trying to build a variable power supply using a transformer I have (out put: 24V, 2A)
I have basic knowledge on how to control the voltage, but I have no idea how to control the current! the transformer output current is 2 Amps, how can I make it variable for example ( from 100mA to 2000mA )
Also I need advice on controlling the voltage.

Thanks

Offline A Hellene

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Need tips on building a power supply! How to control current?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2013, 01:50:56 pm »
Hello, Azhar.

Knowing how to control the voltage output of a power supply, your problem is already almost* solved because the output current can easily be converter into another voltage quantity (that can additionally control the power supply output if it exceeds a certain predetermined or adjustable current threshold) by using a shunt resistor which, according to Ohm's Law, produces a voltage linearly analogous to the electric current that passes through it.

So, you will be having two different voltages to monitor and deal with (by the use of error amplifiers), in order to construct a voltage & current regulated power supply.

-George

[ * ] The real challenge in this endeavor (even for a seasoned designer) will be the frequency compensation of the PSU voltage and current regulation; but this is another subject matter with a life of its own...
« Last Edit: July 13, 2013, 02:10:59 pm by A Hellene »
Hi! This is George; and I am three and a half years old!
(This was one of my latest realisations, now in my early fifties!...)

Offline Paul Price

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 07:04:04 pm »
Try this one I designed for constant voltage or constant current and it goes to almost zero out with the 555 timer circuit to shift the min. output voltage that is usually 1.2V.

Online mariush