Author Topic: Need to choose an AVR debugger... whish suggestions  (Read 4753 times)

Offline electronloverTopic starter

Need to choose an AVR debugger... whish suggestions
« on: October 07, 2013, 06:53:37 am »
Hi to all.
Newbie in this forum :)...  I've some experience in the electronic field, drawing and realizing analog and digital projects, but for the first time I'm approaching the Atmel world, right now.
During the last week I bought a brand new AVR STK600, so I'm just waiting for the delivery, never seen it before.  I don't even know how it really works.
Looking on the Atmel site for a good debugger, it seems that there are just 3 options:
1. JTAGICE MKII;
2. JTAGICE MKIII;
3 AVRONE!

...they just do the same things, seemingly, I'd be able to load and debug firmware on all the 8/32 bit Atmel processors, AFAIK. But... I do not understand the differences between them. The JtagIce MKIII seems to be the fastest of the three loading programs, but that board is the cheapest of the three... the AVRONE! is the most expensive, but seems to offer the same characteristics of the others. Is it worth all the money (some 600$)?
The JI MkII seems to be the most used by the programmers, but what I'm expecting to loose, if I buy it, compared to the others? I sincerely do not understand the differences between them related to the significant price differences.
...and... which problems I'm expecting to face, if I go for a chinese JtagIce MkII clone like the "studio" board, offered on ebay for less than 100$ shipping included?
Is it really totally compatible with the MkII?

thanks for your attention.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2013, 03:42:35 pm by electronlover »

Offline bugfix

Re: Need to choose an AVR debugger... want suggestions
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2013, 07:15:58 am »