Author Topic: need to know basic equation for solving power dissipation???  (Read 8927 times)

Offline doctormTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
so im studying electronics as a hobby and im hitting a snag in my book.

it gets done talking about power and how to solve for it (im in the first part of the book about basics) and then it goes off too how power is dissipated.

one example is how a 60 watt bulb can dissipate 1 watt-hour in like secs or something like that.

so is there a basic equation that i can reference to help solve this and other examples it gives?

if you need the page im reading i can scan it for you to see what im talking about...

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: need to know basic equation for solving power dissipation???
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2010, 02:35:23 am »
A reference will help. Sound like one of those silly physics types questions instead of a real practical electronics question (the light bulb is the giveaway!)
But basically there is no magic formula which is going to help you with thermal design and heat dissipation. It varies greatly with surface area, surface type, enclosure size and ventilation, free air or moving air etc.

The standard technique is to do some basic dissipation calculations and then add in large safety factors. Or often simply build a prototype and measure.

Dave.

Offline allanw

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronoblog
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2010, 03:21:05 am »
The problem you're doing just sounds like unit conversions. For these types of problems you don't really use a formula, just use the definition of what a watt is and such.

60 W = 60 J/s.

A watt-hour has units of J/s * 3600s = 3600J.

Offline Polossatik

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2010, 05:48:47 pm »
Like Dave say's (in one of his blog's also) calculating heat dissipation is an Art in itself.