Author Topic: New Digital Multimeter....  (Read 3706 times)

Offline CacusTopic starter

New Digital Multimeter....
« on: March 03, 2018, 05:30:55 pm »
Hi All

Let me start by stating the following.

When it comes to electronics I a total beginner. I mean I know what V I R is but lets assume total noob.

Now as I run head long into this hobby my goals are ultimately building guitar pedals on the analogue side and Arduino’s for a bit of IOT / Robotic type projects on the digital side.

Now I’m in the market to replace my old Maplin M-776 multimeter that I’ve had for about 38 years!

So I have been looking at the following all by Brymen. BM869s; BM867s; BM829, BM257s and BM239R

The prices for each are as follows in Euro 219; 159; 149, 109 and 109 retrospectively.

Any how I started with the 239R and then did the ooh… for 40 more I can have this but then for a bit more… well you all know the game. ;-)

Any how I intend this to be the last DMM I buy. But I’m not sure if it’s best to plump for the higher specs meters to cover my ‘electronics future'.

For example I’ll only ever use higher voltage AC readings to make sure a UK (230v) socket is live  before decorating or a device we think is dead is getting power.
so I’m thinking 100kHz AC, AC+DC Voltage Bandwidth (no idea!) won’t be required ?

Using arduino’s would I ever need  : Logic Level Frequency or Logic Level Duty Cycle Readings.

Will the 50000/500000 Count Display be beneficial? Over say the 10000 Count Display?

And is Non-Contact EF-Detection essential what a Fluke 1AC stick does as its one of the features that the BM869s doesn’t have.

Your thoughts on all of this would appreciated.

But just to add a small / possible spanner in.

In the UK currently the Rigol 1054z oscilloscope is going for £360 with all the software upgrades bar 100Mhz so  (triggering deep men etc). If I ultimately purchase this as well would it duplicate some of the functions of the higher end DMMs

Cheers
Steve

Offline Lightages