Author Topic: New DS2102 Smoking!!  (Read 8388 times)

Offline Helipil0tTopic starter

New DS2102 Smoking!!
« on: May 26, 2014, 11:11:11 pm »
Ok... So I'll be the first to admit I'm still a bit of a newbie when it comes to electronics.  I've been building the odd project here and there and am slowly gaining some confidence.  I built an ELENCO XP-720 Power Supply and it works great.  So now comes the time to invest in an Oscilloscope.  After doing tones of research I decided to get a Rigol DS2102.  (Yes I know the 70mhz version can be hacked but they were all sold out).  So I get this beautiful scope in the mail and decide to play with it.  I create a simple AC/DC bridge rectifier to probe.  I connected the ground clip of one probe to the ground in my rectifier.  The probe itself I clipped to the positive output of the rectifier(by the resistor).  As a base of comparison I decided to hook up my second probe.  So ground clip to common ground and main probe to Positive of the DC side of my ELENCO.  After a few seconds a saw smoke coming from the ground clip of the number 1 probe right by the diode (smoke could of been the from diode too).  Of course I unhooked everything quickly and killed the power.  The ground clip was really hot. 

I've attached a diagram of the ELENCO and in the hatched area is my created rectifier.  I've illustrated where I placed my probes.  I did watch Dave's "How not to blow up your oscilloscope video." And I was under the impression that as long as what your probing is floating, all should be well.  Well the power supply is floating as it's on the other side of a transformer that isn't grounded to mains earth.  I'm sure it's a rookie mistake but can someone point out what that mistake is and help point me in the right direction?    I would be forever grateful.

First post on the forum by the way. :)  Love this blog! 
Cheers!

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.